2017-09-24 17:58:00

Fanad United 2 Swilly Rovers 3 

Swilly Rovers came from two-nil down to defeat Fanad United at Triagh-A-Locha on Sunday.

Fanad started on the front foot and had a chance in the second minute to take the lead when Oisin McMenamin broke the offside trap and rounded the keeper only to be denied by an excellent block on the line from Michael Kusi. 

Two minutes later McMenamin wasn't to be denied when he read a Bernard McGettigan flick to finish into the bottom corner. 

Fanad extended their lead three minutes later with McMenamin and McGettigan involved again. After McMenamin showed some great skill, he played the ball through to McGettigan and his ball across the box was met at the back post by Ronan Gallagher 

who made no mistake.

Swilly started to come back into the game and on 10 minutes Eamon McHugh was unlucky to see his well hit shot fly just wide of the post. 

Seven minutes later after another good break, Adam Sahli was unfortunate to see his angled drive go just over the bar. With 24 minutes gone Swilly had keeper Sean Friel to thank when he produced a fine full length save from a Ronan Gallagher header after he was set up by an excellent Conor Blaney cross. 

Swilly did pull a goal back on 33 minutes when following a good through ball, Kennedy Boachie-Ansah held off the attentions of two Fanad defenders to score.

The second half was a quiet affair and the only chance of note early on fell Darragh Morrison who fired just wide when well placed. 

In the 76th minute Swilly equalised. When Sean Friel launched a kick out upfield, Eamon McHugh was quickest to react and he executed a beautiful lob over the advancing Dunworth. 

The game seemed to be heading for a draw until Swilly struck again in the 92nd minute. As they bombed forward the ball broke to Ryan McDaid in the box and he made no mistake from close range. 

Fanad United: Dane Dunworth, Sean Little, Paul Lynch, Peter Curran, Conor Blaney, Marty McAteer, Darren McElwaine, Ronan Gallagher, Eoghan Rafferty, Oisin McMenamin (James Kerr 60), Bernard McGettigan (Davitt Walsh 80)

Swilly Rovers: Sean Friel, Ciaran McHugh, Shaun Crossan, Marty McDaid, Michael Kusi, Daire Crossan, Eamon McHugh, Darragh Morrison (Ryan McDaid 82), Derek Ani, Kennedy Boachie-Ansah, Adam Sahli (Jordan Nugent 57) 

Referee: Packie Coll